Warebeth Cemetery; Stromness, Orkney, Scotland, UK

For American Thanksgiving, I went to Scotland.

flying to Scotland | cemetery spelunking

If I could go back to Scotland, I would get right on the Scotrail to Thurso and catch the ferry to anywhere in the Orkney Islands to avoid Edinburgh.  Can’t handle the crowds!

My father-in-law gladly joined the Cemetery Spelunking team, and so you can see him and my husband in some of my photos.

cemetery spelunking | stromness orkney scotland UK | header

The Warebeth Cemetery is one of the most beautiful cemeteries I have ever visited, if not the most beautiful.  I would gladly be buried there, even though I have zero connection to Scotland.  Gorgeous old monuments overlook the Scapa Flow between Stromness and the Isle of Hoy, surrounded by one of many stone walls.

scapa flow stromness orkney scotland | cemetery spelunking

My pictures include some of the walk around the Port of Stromness, an old gun emplacement, and the cemetery itself.

By the way, are those real bones?!

warebeth cemetery stromness orkney soctland | cemetery spelunking

Clicky for pictures.
Warebeth Cemetery and Stromness, Orkney, Scotland, UK//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js

Bonus resource: walkhighlands page for the route we took.

Save

Leave a Reply

